Presidency University


In the late 19th century, it was in this department that Professor Jagadis Chandra Bose, carried out his pioneering research in generating and receiving microwaves, the technology of which is widely used today in households worldwide. In 1913, under the leadership of Professor J. C. Bose, the Physics department moved to its current home, the Baker laboratory, with its majestic Peake library of Science on its upper floor. Among the students of this time, Satyendra Nath Bose, Meghnad Saha, Prasanta Chandra Mahalanobis and Sisir Kumar Mitra achieved international recognition for their pathbreaking work in atomic physics and statistical physics respectively. In the second half of the 20th century, Amal Kumar Raychaudhuri's seminal work on General Relativity attracted the world's attention to the department. During this period, the department produced some of India's best physicists, including Bikash Sinha, Ashoke Sen, and Sabyasachi Bhattacharya.

How to Find Us

Presidency University
(Main Campus)

86/1 College Street
Kolkata 700073

Presidency University
(2nd Campus)

Plot No. DG/02/02,
Premises No. 14-0358, Action Area-ID
New Town
(Near Biswa Bangla Convention Centre)
Contact details Presidency University Students Corner