History and Eminent Alumni

The Department of Philosophy of Presidency University (erstwhile Presidency College) bears the glorious tradition of the mother Institution. The foundation of the department was laid by Professor P.K.Ray in 1868. It is widely recognized as one of the greatest departments of our country. The department grew out of an association of galaxy of faculty members like Richard Jones, P.K.Roy, Nilkanta Majumder, K.C. Bhattacharya, Gopinath Bhattacharya, Mahendralal Sircar, Nalini Kanta Brahma, Amiya Majumder, Pravas Jiban Choudhury.

The department is associated with scholars like Netaji Subhas Bose, K.C. Bhattacharya, Hironmoy Bandopadhaya, Gopinath Bhattacharya, Jitendralal Mohanty, Shibjiban Bhattacharya, Asok Kumar Ganguly, Durgadas Bandopadhayya, Pranab Kumar Sen, J.L. Shaw.

How to Find Us

Presidency University
(Main Campus)

86/1 College Street
Kolkata 700073

Presidency University
(2nd Campus)

Plot No. DG/02/02,
Premises No. 14-0358, Action Area-ID
New Town
(Near Biswa Bangla Convention Centre)
Contact details Presidency University Students Corner