Departmental events

With its glorious heritage and long history as a Department of the erstwhile Presidency College, the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry started functioning as a vibrant department of Presidency University from 2011. The highlights of the major activities of the department for the year 2012 are:

  • Three Professors (Dr. Gandhi K. Kar, Dr. Bijan Das and Dr. Dipak K. Mandal) and two Assistant Professors (Dr. P. Sasikumar and Dr. Dibyendu Senapati) joined the department.
  • Dr. Gandhi Kumar Kar, Professor of Chemistry took over charge, as the Head of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, with effect from 28th September, 2012.
  • Dr. Sanjib Ghosh joined as Emeritus Scientist, CSIR (Govt. of India) on 2nd January, 2012.
  • Dr. Sanjib Ghosh, Emeritus Scientist (CSIR) has been appointed as member of the State Council of Department of Science and Technology, Government of West Bengal.
  • Dr. Sanjib Ghosh has been invited as Guest Professor for Integrated PhD programme at Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata 2012.
  • The Department has been successfully maintaining its tradition and is moving forward as to the performance of the students at the undergraduate Level and Postgraduate level.

How to Find Us

Presidency University
(Main Campus)

86/1 College Street
Kolkata 700073

Presidency University
(2nd Campus)

Plot No. DG/02/02,
Premises No. 14-0358, Action Area-ID
New Town
(Near Biswa Bangla Convention Centre)
Contact details Presidency University Students Corner