About The Department

The Department of Political Science, Presidency University cherishes its illustrious past, but tries every moment to enrich its present. With a bunch of fresh, inquisitive students and dedicated faculty, the department’s quest for quality and knowledge is unbound. And this quest goes beyond the formal syllabus, beyond the four walls of our classrooms. Students are encouraged to question and debate, and raise issues within and beyond the syllabus. They are encouraged to participate in students’ seminars and present papers. The pedagogy involves guiding students to write dissertations and term papers from undergraduate classes beyond formal lecturing. The department believes in helping the students to grow as good human beings, not only good students. The faculty members are engaged in continuous research in all areas of the discipline, besides their regular teaching assignments. Recently, the department has published an edited volume entitled Indian Parliamentary Democracy in Transition (ed. A. Chatterjee) where noted scholars have contributed. The department also published a volume titled Confluence (ed. S. Chaudhury and S. Maitra) consisting of papers from students’ seminars. The volume was edited by two students of the department. In the Golden Jubilee year (2010-2011) the Department introduced Post Graduate Course independently under Presidency University. Semester systems at both the Under Graduate and Post Graduate levels have been introduced. The Syllabi have been framed in tune with the latest development in the discipline. The department believes that framing of the syllabi is a continuous process and wishes to change the course curricula from time to time.

How to Find Us

Presidency University
(Main Campus)

86/1 College Street
Kolkata 700073

Presidency University
(2nd Campus)

Plot No. DG/02/02,
Premises No. 14-0358, Action Area-ID
New Town
(Near Biswa Bangla Convention Centre)
Contact details Presidency University Students Corner